The Church & its Worshippers

 

 

Your magnificent and majestic churches
gave me an avalanche of emotions.
Your rich heritage and history
of the Protestant Reformation
shaped the faith we received.

While the beautiful
cravings and paintings
illustrates the faith
of your fathers of yesteryears,
there is a lack of worshipers
in the beautifully decorated cathedrals,
that swept my heart away.
They looked so
lifeless and empty
without those who worship
‘in spirit and in truth’.

The realisation that the church
is merely not
a building or infrastructure
but a people of the same faith,
has never been so visually
impressed upon me.

Is my faith in a
similar and sorry state?
Do I isolate it
in a corner of my heart
while I am preoccupied
with ‘getting along in life’,
whatever it might be?

“This is what the LORD says:
‘Heaven is my throne,
and the earth is my footstool.
Where is the house
you will build for me?
Where will my resting place be?
Has not my hand made all these things,
and so they came into being?’
declares the LORD.

‘These are the ones
I look on with favour:
those who are humble
and contrite in spirit,
and who tremble at my word.”
Isaiah 66:1-2

Published by Seetoh Simon

A Temporary Resident on Earth Looking Forward to the Eternal Home God Promised.

Leave a comment