Reflection on SG50 and GE 2015

Image result for singapore pledge

Recently, when asked if I consider myself patriotic, I was at a loss and it set me thinking…

Born in 1975, I witnessed the progress and improvement in the lives of many Singaporeans. Indeed we have much to be thankful for and I am proud to be a Singaporean.

I take pride in our success. It was Malaysia that decided the date of our independence when they decided to do away with us. The realisation that we are on our own has driven our pioneer generation to work hard and create what we enjoy today. We are willing to slog it out to achieve our dreams.

I take pride in our common identity. Singapore is a small country and most of us went through common experiences: the stressful exams, the National Service, the consideration of getting married and public housing application, P1 application, Singlish and our food. Returning to Singapore always gives me a great sense of freedom to do and say what I want without much worry, like returning home.

My loyalty is towards this land, its people and the people governing this land, not any political party, though in Singapore, there is a really fine line between the two.

With regards to the coming election, many said we should appreciate what our government has done for us and consider how efficient and honest they are, while others borders on being xenophobic, insisting on a ‘Singaporeans first’ stance.

While I am thankful for our government, I feel that my trust has been eroded by the relentless pursuit of ‘happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation.’ The lives of an ordinary citizen have not progressed much since 2005 and generally the huge increase in cost of living has overwhelmed many. The gap between the ‘Haves’ and ‘Have nots’ is ever increasing and Singapore is becoming a land only for the rich and affluent.

Though I have no wish to see the ruling party being replaced, I hope they would not get a landslide victory suggesting all is well, that we are happy with the status quo. I wish for a one third minority that will give voice to a credible opposition to ensure the interest of all Singaporeans.

Blessed 50th birthday, Singapore!

Published by Seetoh Simon

A Temporary Resident on Earth Looking Forward to the Eternal Home God Promised.

Leave a comment