The Pursuit of my Grades

Image result for a chasing after the wind

Disclaimer: I do not subscribe to the content of this poem. It is with the intention to illustrate the foolishness of such an undertaking that I reworded Psalm 23. May the LORD and king David not hold this against me.

The pursuit of my grades
shall be my greatest endeavour.
For it will lead me
to an illustrious career
and guide me
in paths of great riches
for my parents’ namesake
that they could boast unceasingly
of my outstanding achievements.

Even though I lose
all my friends,
all my interests
and what constitutes ME,
I shall not give it a damn,
for my success and wealth,
they comfort me.

Those who are my enemies
cannot help but
cast an envious eye
on my accolades and abilities.
Surely greatness and pride
shall follow me
all the days of my life
and I shall bask in the
glory of my perfect grades
forever.

Published by Seetoh Simon

A Temporary Resident on Earth Looking Forward to the Eternal Home God Promised.

Leave a comment