No Longer Called Servants

Image result for penniless

With the recent discussion about what is happening to ‘our’ money, I thought of a conversion I had with my son. There was a time that whenever he wanted to buy something, we will tell him we had no money.

One day, when I repeated those words to him, he asked sincerely, ‘Daddy, are we very poor? Why is it that you always have no money? Didn’t you go to work? Does your company not pay you?’ I laughed…

and realized that he really believed we were at our last dollar and it was affecting his self esteem. That day, I decided to tell him how much money we had, which house we were dreaming of getting (and is still dreaming) and the need to save so that we can live comfortably. Isaac began to understand the benefits of delayed gratification and attached a cost to things he would like to have. It is easy to dismiss a child and to spend time explaining is tiresome but ‘train a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it.’

‘I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.’

John 15:15

Published by Seetoh Simon

A Temporary Resident on Earth Looking Forward to the Eternal Home God Promised.

Leave a comment